Finding the right support services can be overwhelming. There is so much information out there and so many different types of clinicians and therapies to consider. 

As you learn more about your options and start to come across providers, you will likely read information about the different types of therapeutic approaches that clinicians are trained in and will use during therapy. 

We hope to make this process a little easier by summarizing a few therapeutic approaches below:

Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT)

Cognitive Behavioral Therapy is a type of talk therapy aimed to reduce symptoms associated with various mental health conditions and disorders. CBT can help you identify and change negative thinking patterns and help you make positive behavioral changes.

Dialectical Behavior Therapy (DBT)

Dialectical Behavior Therapy is a type of talk therapy that is based on CBT but is specially designed for those who experience emotions very intensely. DBT focuses on helping people cope with, accept, and change unhealthy behaviors.

Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing (EMDR)

Eye Movement Desensitization and Reprocessing is designed to alleviate the distress associated with traumatic memories through rapid eye movements.


Brainspotting is a type of trauma therapy that uses a single eye position to help the brain access unprocessed trauma.

Exposure and Response Prevention (ERP)

Exposure and Response Prevention therapy is an important type of CBT for people struggling with OCD. This type of therapy helps people confront intrusive thoughts by safely exposing them to their triggers, while helping them prevent compulsive behaviors as a response to the trigger.

Sensorimotor Psychotherapy (SP)

Sensorimotor Psychotherapy is a type of body-centered talk therapy that is designed to improve symptoms of trauma and help people feel safe in their body again when processing traumatic experiences.


Mindfulness is the practice of being calmly present in the moment while being aware of ones surroundings, feelings, and bodily sensations.

Humanistic Therapy

Humanistic therapy emphasizes accepting, appreciating, and being true to ones unique self in order to live a fulfilling life.

Acceptance and Commitment Therapy (ACT)

Acceptance and Commitment Therapy is an action-oriented approach that encourages acceptance and ownership of ones struggles and feelings, and a commitment to make the behavioral changes that are necessary in order to move forward.

Internal Family Systems (IFS)

Internal Family Systems is an approach that acknowledges that the mind is made up of multiple unique parts, and it is designed to help identify and treat the multiple sub-personalities or families within each person’s mental system that may be causing painful emotions such as anger and shame, or that may be responsible for protecting the person from their painful emotions.